Worker Rights: A Reading List for Children and Families

We hope these selections serve to educate and encourage a dialogue around worker’s rights and the labor movement both here in the United States and around the world.

Posted by on October 2, 2021

Worker Rights: A Reading List for Teens

We hope these selections serve to educate and encourage a dialogue around worker’s rights and the labor movement both here in the United States and around the world. Audacity by Read more...

Posted by on October 1, 2021

Serafina and the Black Cloak by Robert Beatty

Serafina has always been different and shut away. Living with her Pa in the basement at the Biltmore Estate she has never been allowed to interact with other people. One Read more...

Posted by on September 30, 2021

A Century of Reading: The 1980s

It was rad to be a kid in the 80s! Take a trip down memory lane with some books, movies, and music from the 1980s. Ramona Quimby, Age 8 by Beverly Read more...

Posted by on July 12, 2021

Juneteenth: A Collection of Films Available in Kanopy

Enjoy this selection of films made available by our partner, Kanopy, as we observe Juneteenth.

Posted by on June 19, 2021

A Century of Reading: The 1920s

Enjoy this selection of titles to highlight the breadth of work produced in the Roaring Twenties!

Posted by on June 1, 2021

Nathan Hale’s Hazardous Tales: Donner Dinner Party by Nathan Hale

Nathan Hales’ Hazardous Tales: Donner Dinner Party breaks down this squeamish story from history in a way that’s both historically accurate and child friendly. This graphic novel tells the story Read more...

Posted by on April 29, 2021

Women’s History Month: A Reading List for Grade School

In honor of Women's History Month, we've selected titles focusing on the lives of women and girls throughout the past and into the present day. We hope these selections serve Read more...

Posted by on March 8, 2021

Black History Month: A Reading list for Grade School

Celebrate Black History Month with books by Black authors and writing focusing on Black characters, history, and culture. We hope these selections serve to educate and encourage a dialogue on Read more...

Posted by on February 10, 2021

Black History Month: A Reading List for Children and Families

Celebrate Black History Month with books by Black authors and writing focusing on Black characters, history, and culture. We hope these selections serve to educate and encourage a dialogue on Read more...

Posted by on February 10, 2021

Best of 2020: A Reading List for Teens

Some of the best YA books that were published in the year 2020. The featured titles were chosen from Librarians’ favorites and pulled from different best of lists. Cemetery Boys by Read more...

Posted by on January 7, 2021

One Community, Many Voices: A Grade School Reading List

This list is a great way to start your Westmont Reads experience. WPL librarians have selected titles for all ages by authors from a wide range of communities, backgrounds, experiences, Read more...

Posted by on December 13, 2020

Lady Clementine by Marie Benedict by Marie Benedict

As a beautiful debutante in British society, 19 year old Clementine Hozier was reserved in the company of others. Often disliked due to the notoriety of her aristocratic parents, she Read more...

Posted by on November 17, 2020

Killers of the Flower Moon: the Osage Murders and the Birth of the FBI by David Grann

Killers of the Flower Moon is the tragic, and mostly untold, history of the killing of many Osage Indians in the early 20th century. During this time, the Osage were Read more...

Posted by on November 10, 2020

When Mischief Came to Town by Katrina Nannestad

Fans of Pippi Longstocking and Anne of Green Gables will adore the story of 10-year-old Inge Marie Jensen; a spunky, recently orphaned girl who arrives at a dreary Danish island Read more...

Posted by on May 28, 2020

Book Recs