Today's Grab-and-Go & Computer Lab Hours: 10 am – 7 pm. | Today's Curbside Hours: 11 am – 2 pm.

Databases & reference

Research everything from genealogy to product reviews, look up newspaper articles, consult reference databases, and more.
Search our online catalog for articles or browse one of the platforms below. Please note that not all material from these databases may be searchable through the catalog.

Need assistance? Our librarians can help via online chat, email, or phone (630 869 6155). For more involved research assistance, please use our Book a Librarian service.

Reviews & Recommendations

Consumer Reports

Making a big purchase? Consult Consumer Reports for product ratings, reviews, recommendations, brand reliability, and buying advice.

Novelist

Find your next read with Novelist. Looking for a good fiction or nonfiction book? Search by subject, plot summary, grade level, and more.

Video Tutorial

Novelist K-8

Find reading suggestions for picture books, children’s chapter books, and young adult titles. Search or browse by subject, plot summary, grade level, and more.

Hobbies & How-to

Ancestry

Ancestry is now temporarily available from home through June 2021!

Search 4,000 genealogical and local history databases for information on over 4 billion names.

Auto Repair Source

Find information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles, with repair information for most vintage makes starting as far back as 1974. New repair procedures and updates are added continuously.

AtoZ Food America

AtoZ Food America brings together the vast variety of American cuisine into one easy to use resource. From regional cookbooks to an exploration of ethnic culinary influences, AtoZ Food America has something sure to educate and entertain everyone.

Video Tutorials

AtoZ World Food

With thousands of international recipes, hundreds of culture and ingredient articles, and essential culinary resources, AtoZ World Food brings international cuisines to you, from Albanian byrek to Zimbabwean matemba.

Video Tutorials

Creativebug

Enjoy more than 1,000 online art & craft video classes taught by designers and artists. Creativebug’s classes cover everything from drawing and sketching to sewing and bookbinding.

Heritage Quest

Access primary source documents and data for genealogical research from home.

AtoZ World Travel

As you’re planning your next journey, make sure to take look at AtoZ World Travel for information about your destination. Regularly updated with information about numerous travel destinations, AtoZ World Travel is the place to begin planning your trip!

Jobs & Career

Brainfuse JobNow

JobNow provides live help combined with online resources to guide you through the necessary tasks to get a job, including acing the interview, building a resume, and personality & career assessments. Live job coaches are available from 2 – 11 pm.

Learning Express

Access test prep and software tutorials, including practice tests for the ACT, SAT, GRE, LSAT, MCAT, and many career tests. Skill improvement tests for elementary, middle and high school students are also available.

Lynda.com

Grow your skills with online training videos and courses in software, photography, business skills development, and much more—all taught by experts. Tutorials are designed for all levels from beginners to experts.

Video Tutorial

Records and Directories

AtoZ Databases

AtoZdatabases is ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities. Research companies, search for the perfect job, and access resume templates and interview tools.

Record Information Services

This database includes lists of new homeowners, new businesses, foreclosures and sales, and bankruptcies in DuPage, Cook, Kendall, Lake, McHenry and Will Counties.

Reference & Articles

Academic Search Complete

Access a scholarly, multi-disciplinary, full-text database including thousands of periodicals and peer-reviewed journals, plus indexing and abstracts for additional publications such as monographs, reports, and conference proceedings.

Business Source Premier

Access full text for scholarly business journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more, plus market research results from Datamonitor.

Consumer Health Complete

Consumer-oriented health content covering health-related topics from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.

History Reference Center

Explore this full-text history reference database featuring reference books, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, and history periodicals, as well as thousands of historical documents, biographies of historical figures, photos, maps, and historical video.

Literary Reference Center

Access a variety of information on authors and their works across literary disciplines and eras. Includes biographies, book reviews, criticism, and synopses from authoritative reference sources, journals, and original analysis.

MasterFILE

MasterFILE provides full text for roughly 1700 general interest, business, consumer health, general science, and multicultural periodicals, as well as reference books and primary source documents.

Newspaper Source

Read full-text newspaper articles and television and radio transcripts. Includes the Associated Press (AP), CNN Wire, PR Wire, UPI (United Press International), Xinhua, The Chicago Citizen, and more.

Points of View Reference Center

Points of View Reference Center provides essays and resources on current issues from multiple points of view, along with questions for discussion and full-text, supporting articles sourced from major publications.

Science Reference Center

Read full-text articles on topics that include biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

TeachingBooks

TeachingBooks provides resources for children’s and young adult books, selected to encourage the integration of multimedia author and book materials into reading and library activities for K-12 students.

Value Line

Find extensive financial and statistical data from independent analysts. Includes recent news and analysis, plus educational tools and information on building an investment portfolio.

Westmont Public Library