PIGLET: The Unexpected Story of a Deaf Blind Pink Puppy and His Family by Melissa Shapiro

Dr. Melisa Shapiro knew one thing from an early age. That her purpose in life was to care for animals. During the first few chapters of the book, Dr. Shapiro Read more...

Posted by on October 5, 2021

Slider by Pete Hautman

David Miller can eat a large pepperoni pizza in 4 minutes and 36 seconds. His parents are not impressed.

Posted by on August 26, 2021

Vampirates: Demons of the ocean by Justin Somper

After their father’s death, twins Grace and Connor set sail on the open sea in hopes of finding a better life.  When caught in the eye of a storm they Read more...

Posted by on July 29, 2021

Black History Month: A Reading list for Grade School

Celebrate Black History Month with books by Black authors and writing focusing on Black characters, history, and culture. We hope these selections serve to educate and encourage a dialogue on Read more...

Posted by on February 10, 2021

Black History Month: A Reading List for Children and Families

Celebrate Black History Month with books by Black authors and writing focusing on Black characters, history, and culture. We hope these selections serve to educate and encourage a dialogue on Read more...

Posted by on February 10, 2021

Picture Books Featuring the Alphabet

Whether you are looking for a fun new books to share together or want to enrich your reader's homeschool curriculum, choosing  a book that features a letter in the alphabet Read more...

Posted by on December 30, 2020

Disability & Neurodiversity: A Reading List for Children and Families

We hope these selections serve to educate, entertain, amplify disabled voices, and encourage a dialogue on topics of disability and neurodiversity.

Posted by on December 21, 2020

Disability & Neurodiversity: A Reading List for Grade School

We hope these selections serve to educate, entertain, amplify disabled voices, and encourage a dialogue on topics of disability and neurodiversity.

Posted by on December 21, 2020

One Community, Many Voices: A Reading List for Children & Families

This list is a great way to start your Westmont Reads experience. WPL librarians have selected titles for all ages by authors from a wide range of communities, backgrounds, experiences, Read more...

Posted by on December 13, 2020

One Community, Many Voices: A Grade School Reading List

This list is a great way to start your Westmont Reads experience. WPL librarians have selected titles for all ages by authors from a wide range of communities, backgrounds, experiences, Read more...

Posted by on December 13, 2020

Teen Winter Romances

A list of romantic books for teens that take place over the holiday season. My True Love Gave to Me edited by Stephanie Perkins If you love holiday stories, holiday Read more...

Posted by on December 11, 2020

Mass Incarceration: A Reading List for Children and Families

We hope these selections serve to educate and encourage a dialogue on topics of incarceration and the impact of mass incarceration on individuals, families, and communities.

Posted by on September 8, 2020

Ready or Not: Preparing Our Kids to Thrive in an Uncertain and Rapidly Changing World by Madeline Levine PhD

Published in 2020, but before the Covid-19 pandemic took hold, this book is remarkably timely. Our world is truly unpredictable, and even the near future is uncertain. The author, a Read more...

Posted by on August 13, 2020

Dreamers by Yuyi Morales

Yuyi and her son leave Mexico and travel to the United States. They are welcomed in a language not yet their own and have to learn and discover many new Read more...

Posted by on July 2, 2020

When Mischief Came to Town by Katrina Nannestad

Fans of Pippi Longstocking and Anne of Green Gables will adore the story of 10-year-old Inge Marie Jensen; a spunky, recently orphaned girl who arrives at a dreary Danish island Read more...

Posted by on May 28, 2020

Book Recs