LGBTQ+ Voices and Experiences: A Reading List for Grade School

Celebrate Pride Month with books highlighting LGBTQ+ characters, experiences, histories, and voices. We hope these selections serve to educate and encourage a dialogue on topics of gender and sexuality from Read more...

Posted by on June 4, 2021

Nathan Hale’s Hazardous Tales: Donner Dinner Party by Nathan Hale

Nathan Hales’ Hazardous Tales: Donner Dinner Party breaks down this squeamish story from history in a way that’s both historically accurate and child friendly. This graphic novel tells the story Read more...

Posted by on April 29, 2021

Environmental Justice: A Reading List for Children and Families

We hope these selections serve to educate and encourage a dialogue on topics of environmental justice, including access to a clean and healthy environment for all people, the disproportionate impact Read more...

Posted by on April 22, 2021

Asian and Pacific Islander Voices: A Reading List for Grade School

We hope these selections serve to spotlight #ownvoices stories by authors of Asian and Pacific Islander heritage, introduce readers to diverse writers and perspectives, and educate and encourage a dialogue Read more...

Posted by on April 2, 2021

Small Spaces by Katherine Arden

Small Spaces is a deliciously creepy tale of a school field trip gone wrong. Ollie is the only student that is nervous about the bus breaking down, and the teacher Read more...

Posted by on April 1, 2021

Primer by Jennifer Muro

Ashley Rayburn feels different. What are you supposed to do with a boatload of creativity and nowhere to put it? With her birth father in prison and her frequent moves Read more...

Posted by on March 25, 2021

Women’s History Month: A Reading List for Grade School

In honor of Women's History Month, we've selected titles focusing on the lives of women and girls throughout the past and into the present day. We hope these selections serve Read more...

Posted by on March 8, 2021

Disability & Neurodiversity: A Reading List for Grade School

We hope these selections serve to educate, entertain, amplify disabled voices, and encourage a dialogue on topics of disability and neurodiversity.

Posted by on December 21, 2020

One Community, Many Voices: A Grade School Reading List

This list is a great way to start your Westmont Reads experience. WPL librarians have selected titles for all ages by authors from a wide range of communities, backgrounds, experiences, Read more...

Posted by on December 13, 2020

Native Nations: A Reading List for Grade School

We hope these selections serve to educate, celebrate, and encourage dialogue on the diverse nations, cultures, and experiences of Native peoples throughout North America. Celebrate Native American Heritage Month—and continue Read more...

Posted by on November 9, 2020

Snapdragon by Kat Leyh

Snapdragon enters the house of the town witch to save her dog Good Boy. Only the witch didn’t hurt Snap’s dog, she helped him after he got hit by car. Read more...

Posted by on October 22, 2020

The Dragonet Prophecy by Tui T. Sutherland

If you have ever wanted to be a dragon, this series is for you! Different dragon clans of Pyrrhia have been at war for centuries with no end in sight. Read more...

Posted by on October 15, 2020

New Kid by Jerry Craft

Stereotypes and expectations can be difficult, especially when they come from your peers. New Kid by Jerry Craft tells the story of 12 year old Jordan Banks as he embarks Read more...

Posted by on July 30, 2020

Go With the Flow by Lily Williams

Sophomores Abby, Brit, Christine, and Sasha are all fed up with the fact that their high school never has enough, or even any, pads or tampons in the girls bathroom. Read more...

Posted by on July 13, 2020

When Mischief Came to Town by Katrina Nannestad

Fans of Pippi Longstocking and Anne of Green Gables will adore the story of 10-year-old Inge Marie Jensen; a spunky, recently orphaned girl who arrives at a dreary Danish island Read more...

Posted by on May 28, 2020

Book Recs