Book Clubs

Join one of our monthly book clubs to discuss an omnivorous selection of fiction and nonfictionpopular novels, or scifi and fantasy. Titles are available from the Main Desk one month in advance. The Nonfiction Book Group is currently on hiatus.

Need help getting copies of your next book?

Book clubs can fill out this form to request upcoming titles. Tell us how many copies you need, including audiobook and large print editions, and we’ll deliver. Your members will be able to pick up selections at the Main Desk with a valid library card.

Starting a new book club?

Fill out this form to register, and we’ll help you get copies of upcoming books into the hands of your members.

Hoppy Reads Book Club

Join fellow readers for discussion and fine company at Zazzo’s Pizza & Bar, 200 W Ogden Ave, Westmont. We will explore themes in fiction, non-fiction, film and graphic novels.

November 29, 2018

The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls

“In the tradition of Mary Karr’s The Liars’ Club and Rick Bragg’s All Over But the Shouting, Walls has written a stunning and life-affirming memoir about surviving a willfully impoverished, eccentric, and severely misguided family.”

December 27, 2018

Black Klansman by Ron Stallworth

“The true story of Detective Ron Stallworth, the first black detective in the Colorado Springs Police Department, who in 1978 went undercover to investigate the KKK.”

January 31, 2019

Home After Dark by David Small

“Thirteen-year-old Russell Pruitt, abandoned by his mother, follows his father to dilapidated 1950s Marshfield, California, where he is forced to fend for himself against a ring of malicious bullies.”

February 28, 2019

On the Road by Jack Kerouac

“The classic novel that epitomizes the “Beat Generation.” Portrays a spontaneous and wandering way of life founded on jazz and drugs.

Unreal World Book Club

This group is for readers who enjoy fantastical stories including paranormal, futuristic dystopian, science fiction, and more. We meet on the first Tuesday of the month at 7 pm. Books are available at the Main Desk one month in advance.

In December through February, we will meet at Zazzo’s Pizza & Bar, 200 W Ogden Ave, Westmont.

December 4, 2018

Vicious by V.E. Schwab

“Victor and Eli started out as college roommates– brilliant, arrogant, lonely boys who recognized the same sharpness and ambition in each other. In their senior year, a shared research interest in adrenaline, near-death experiences, and seemingly supernatural events reveals an intriguing possibility: that under the right conditions, someone could develop extraordinary abilities… Armed with terrible power on both sides, driven by the memory of betrayal and loss, the archnemeses have set a course for revenge– but who will be left alive at the end?”

Vicious is also available as an ebook from Overdrive Media on Demand.

We will also discuss the film Sneakers.

January 8, 2019

Song of Blood and Stone by L. Penelope

“Thrust into a hostile society, Jasminda and Jack must rely on one another even as secrets jeopardize their bond. As an ancient evil gains power, Jasminda races to unlock a mystery that promises salvation. The fates of two nations hang in the balance as Jasminda and Jack must choose between love and duty to fulfill their destinies and end the war.”

We will also discuss the film The Shape of Water.

February 5, 2019

The Devourers by Indra Das

“A dreamlike novel about a young historian and a persuasive and beguiling stranger coming together in modern-day Kolkata, India to transcribe an ancient journal. A collection of paper, parchment, and skins, the journal tells of bloodshed, kidnapping, magic and shapeshifting, set against the harsh landscapes of the 17th-Century Mughal Empire. It reveals the story of hunters and prey, lovers and the beloved, and, in the end, the choice to be transformed, or be quarry.”

4th Monday Book Group

Join in the discussion of popular titles and share your thoughts and opinions! This group is led by a different member each month. Books are available at the Main Desk one month in advance. Click here for a list of upcoming dates, times, and locations.

November 26, 2018

The Radium Girls by Kate Moore

“As World War I raged across the globe, hundreds of young women toiled away at the radium-dial factories, where they painted clock faces with a mysterious new substance called radium. Assured by their bosses that the luminous material was safe, the women themselves shone brightly in the dark, covered from head to toe with the glowing dust. With such a coveted job, these “shining girls” were considered the luckiest alive–until they began to fall mysteriously ill. As the fatal poison of the radium took hold, they found themselves embroiled in one of America’s biggest scandals and a groundbreaking battle for workers’ rights. The Radium Girls explores the strength of extraordinary women in the face of almost impossible circumstances and the astonishing legacy they left behind.”

January 28, 2019

You Don’t Have to Say You Love Me by Sherman Alexie

“Presents a literary memoir of poems, essays, and intimate family photos that reflect on the author’s complicated relationship with his mother and his disadvantaged childhood on a Native American reservation.”

February 25, 2019

I’d Know You Anywhere by Laura Lippman

“Eliza Benedict’s peaceful suburban life is shattered after she is contacted by Walter Bowman, the man who kidnapped and held her hostage as a teen in 1985, and who now claims to want forgiveness while on death row.”

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!