Book Clubs

Join one of our monthly book clubs to discuss an omnivorous selection of fiction and nonfictionpopular novels, or scifi and fantasy. Titles are available from the Main Desk one month in advance. The Nonfiction Book Group is currently on hiatus.

Need help getting copies of your next book?

Book clubs can fill out this form to request upcoming titles. Tell us how many copies you need, including audiobook and large print editions, and we’ll deliver. Your members will be able to pick up selections at the Main Desk with a valid library card.

Starting a new book club?

Fill out this form to register, and we’ll help you get copies of upcoming books into the hands of your members.

Hoppy Reads Book Club

In June through August, join fellow readers for discussion and fine company at The Sweet and Savory Spot, 15 S Cass Ave, Westmont. We will explore themes in fiction, non-fiction, film and graphic novels.

In September through November, we will meet at Zazzo’s Pizza & Bar, 200 W Ogden Ave, Westmont.

September 27, 2018

My Favorite Thing is Monsters by Emil Ferris

“Set against the tumultuous political backdrop of late 1960s Chicago, and narrated by 10-year-old Karen Reyes, Monsters is told through a fictional graphic diary employing the iconography of B-movie horror imagery and pulp monster magazines. As the precocious Karen Reyes tries to solve the murder of her beautiful and enigmatic upstairs neighbor, Anka Silverberg, a holocaust survivor, we watch the interconnected and fascinating stories of those around her unfold”–Front cover flap.

October 25, 2018

Harrow County, Vol. 1: Countless Haints by Cullen Bunn

“Young Emmy always knew that the woods surrounding her home crawled with ghosts and monsters — the countless haints of Harrow County. But on the eve of her eighteenth birthday, she learns that she is connected to these creatures — and to the land itself — in ways she never could have imagined.”

 

 

The Witch by Robert Eggers

“A family in 1630s New England faces destruction by the forces of witchcraft, black magic, and possession. When one of their five children goes missing and their life-sustaining crops fail, they fall victim to paranoia and fear as they begin to turn on one another.”

November 29, 2018

The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls

“In the tradition of Mary Karr’s The Liars’ Club and Rick Bragg’s All Over But the Shouting, Walls has written a stunning and life-affirming memoir about surviving a willfully impoverished, eccentric, and severely misguided family.”

Unreal World Book Club

This group is for readers who enjoy fantastical stories including paranormal, futuristic dystopian, science fiction, and more. We meet on the first Tuesday of the month at 7 pm. Books are available at the Main Desk one month in advance.

In September through November, we will meet at Standard Market Grill, 333 E Ogden Ave, Westmont.

October 2, 2018

The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black

“When seventeen-year-old Tana wakes up following a party in the aftermath of a violent vampire attack, she travels to Coldtown, a quarantined Massachusetts city full of vampires, with her ex-boyfriend and a mysterious vampire boy in tow.”

The Coldest Girl in Coldtown is also available as an audiobook on CD and both an ebook and audiobook from Overdrive.

We will also discuss the film Near Dark.

November 6, 2018

Food of the Gods by Cassandra Khaw

“By day, Rupert Wong – sorcerer, chef, former triad – prepares delicious meals of human flesh for a dynasty of ghouls in Kuala Lumpur ; by night, he’s an administrator for the Ten Chinese Hells. It’s a living, of sorts. When the Dragon of the South demands that Rupert investigate the murders of his daughter and her mortal husband, Rupert is caught in a war between gods that’s as bewildering as it is bloody. If he’s going to survive, he’ll need to stay sharp, stay lucky, and always read the fine print…”

We will also watch the 1991 film Delicatessen.

4th Monday Book Group

Join in the discussion of popular titles and share your thoughts and opinions! This group is led by a different member each month. Books are available at the Main Desk one month in advance. Click here for a list of upcoming dates, times, and locations.

September 24, 2018

The Book That Matters Most by Ann Hood

“An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets, friendship, and the healing power of literature, by the bestselling author of The Knitting Circle. —Provided by publisher”

October 22, 2018

A Gentleman in Moscow by Amor Towles

“In all ways a great novel, a nonstop pleasure brimming with charm, personal wisdom, and philosophic insight.this book more than fulfills the promise of Towles’ stylish debut, Rules of Civility.” – Kirkus Reviews

November 26, 2018

The Radium Girls by Kate Moore

“As World War I raged across the globe, hundreds of young women toiled away at the radium-dial factories, where they painted clock faces with a mysterious new substance called radium. Assured by their bosses that the luminous material was safe, the women themselves shone brightly in the dark, covered from head to toe with the glowing dust. With such a coveted job, these “shining girls” were considered the luckiest alive–until they began to fall mysteriously ill. As the fatal poison of the radium took hold, they found themselves embroiled in one of America’s biggest scandals and a groundbreaking battle for workers’ rights. The Radium Girls explores the strength of extraordinary women in the face of almost impossible circumstances and the astonishing legacy they left behind.”
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!