The Adventures of Amina Al-Sirafi is the first book in a new trilogy by Shannon Chakraborty. It’s a tale of the high seas featuring pirates and sorcerers, ancient mysteries, magical artifacts, dastardly deeds, and all the adventure you could ask for. 

The story follows the fabled captain Amina al-Sirafi. Once the scourge of the high seas, she’s now retired and settled into a life of piety, motherhood, and an absolutely calm and serene life. All is quiet and well until the mother of a former crew member shows up with a demand that Amina cannot refuse: Retrieve the crew member’s kidnapped daughter. Amina can’t pass up the chance at one last adventure, especially considering the princely sum she’ll receive for the rescue. As Amina gathers her crew and sets off on her final adventure, she discovers there might be much more to this story than she was told and it may require a much higher price than she can afford to pay. 

This book was a rollicking adventure from start to finish and I cannot wait for the second and third books. Despite coming in at almost 500 pages, the story, filled with action, adventure, magic and mayhem, is a fast-paced read. The charmingly crooked cast of the pirate crew will have readers rooting for their success, even if it isn’t quite on the up and up. Fans of Chakraborty’s previous books will love this one just as much. And anyone who enjoys a good adventure story or heist novel will find just as much to enjoy. 

Recommended for fans of William Goldman’s The Princess Bride, Brandon Sanderson’s Tress of the Emerald Sea, Chelsea Abdullah’s The Stardust Thief, India Holton’s The Wisteria Society of Lady Scoundrels, and Shelley Parker-Chan’s She Who Became the Sun. 

We love helping people find books, movies, and more.

Tell us about your preferences, and our librarians will create a list of titles selected specifically for you.