Databases & reference
Research everything from genealogy to product reviews, get career help, consult reference databases, and more.
Need assistance? Our librarians can help via email or phone (630 869 6155). For more involved research assistance, please use our Book a Librarian service.
Reviews & Recommendations
Consumer Reports
Making a big purchase? Consult Consumer Reports for product ratings, reviews, recommendations, brand reliability, and buying advice.
Novelist
Find your next read with Novelist. Looking for a good fiction or nonfiction book? Search by subject, plot summary, grade level, and more.
Video Tutorial
Novelist K-8
Find reading suggestions for picture books, children’s chapter books, and young adult titles. Search or browse by subject, plot summary, grade level, and more.
Hobbies & How-to
Ancestry (in-Library only)
Search 4,000 genealogical and local history databases for information on over 4 billion names.
AtoZ Food America
AtoZ Food America brings together the vast variety of American cuisine into one easy to use resource. From regional cookbooks to an exploration of ethnic culinary influences, AtoZ Food America has something sure to educate and entertain everyone.
Video Tutorials
AtoZ World Food
With thousands of international recipes, hundreds of culture and ingredient articles, and essential culinary resources, AtoZ World Food brings international cuisines to you, from Albanian byrek to Zimbabwean matemba.
Video Tutorials
AtoZ World Travel
As you’re planning your next journey, make sure to take a look at AtoZ World Travel for information about your destination. Regularly updated with information about numerous travel destinations, AtoZ World Travel is the place to begin planning your trip!
Creativebug
Enjoy more than 1,000 online art & craft video classes taught by designers and artists. Creativebug’s classes cover everything from drawing and sketching to sewing and bookbinding.
Fold3
Fold3 provides convenient access to US military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of those who served.
Global Road Warrior
Featuring in-depth information on 175 countries, Global Road Warrior includes country facts, royalty-free maps, and travel essentials. It is an excellent resource for student projects and a great companion for international travelers.
Jobs & Career
Udemy
Improve your skills and explore new interests with Gale Presents: Udemy, an online learning platform offering on-demand, professionally-taught video courses in business, technology, design, and more.
Records and Directories
AtoZ Databases
AtoZdatabases is ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, and employment opportunities. Research companies, search for the perfect job, and access resume templates and interview tools.
Record Information Services
This database includes lists of new homeowners, new businesses, foreclosures and sales, and bankruptcies in DuPage, Cook, Kendall, Lake, McHenry, and Will Counties.
Reference & Articles
Historical Westmont Newspapers
Read digitized copies of historical Westmont newspapers, hosted at the Illinois Digital Archives. This digitization project is currently in progress. Stay tuned for more issues of The Towne Times, Westmont Progress, and more.
Salem Press Online
Access digital copies of Salem Press titles owned by the Westmont Public Library. Titles range from scholarly critiques of notable authors and works to historical examination of American life.
TeachingBooks
TeachingBooks provides resources for children’s and young adult books, selected to encourage the integration of multimedia author and book materials into reading and library activities for K-12 students.
Value Line
Find extensive financial and statistical data from independent analysts. Includes recent news and analysis, plus educational tools and information on building an investment portfolio.