One Community, Many Voices: A Grade School Reading List

This list is a great way to start your Westmont Reads experience. WPL librarians have selected titles for all ages by authors from a wide range of communities, backgrounds, experiences, Read more...

Lady Clementine by Marie Benedict

As a beautiful debutante in British society, 19 year old Clementine Hozier was reserved in the company of others. Often disliked due to the notoriety of her aristocratic parents, she Read more...

Killers of the Flower Moon: the Osage Murders and the Birth of the FBI

Killers of the Flower Moon is the tragic, and mostly untold, history of the killing of many Osage Indians in the early 20th century. During this time, the Osage were Read more...

When Mischief Came to Town

Fans of Pippi Longstocking and Anne of Green Gables will adore the story of 10-year-old Inge Marie Jensen; a spunky, recently orphaned girl who arrives at a dreary Danish island Read more...

Posted by on May 28, 2020

The Engineer’s Wife

The Engineer’s Wife is a historical fiction novel that opens up at the end of the Civil War. It follows the life of the suffragist, Emily Warren Roebling, and her Read more...

A Well-Behaved Woman : a Novel of the Vanderbilts

This is a story of one woman’s struggle to overcome infidelity, chauvinism, and crippling loss in the midst of New York’s Gilded Age. It is a story of fortune lost Read more...

Grace Hopper: Queen of Computer Code

This book begins with Grace Hopper as a young girl who breaks clocks simply to put them back together and find what makes them tick. With her parents’ support, she Read more...

Keith Haring: The Boy Who Just Kept Drawing by Kay Haring

Keith Haring: The Boy Who Just Kept Drawing is the story of the world famous pop artist. Written by his sister Kay Haring, the picture book takes a look at Read more...

Posted by on January 2, 2020

The World That We Knew

This novel begins in Berlin in 1941 and follows the life of a young Jewish girl, Lea, whose mother, Hanni, will do anything to keep her safe. She consults a Read more...

Posted by on November 5, 2019

Midwinterblood

Containing elements of mystery, horror, romance, history, and the paranormal, Midwinterblood is difficult to describe without giving too much away or just listing more descriptors like “sweeping” and “mystical.”

Posted by on March 26, 2019

The Sea Queen

Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire and those interested in Norse history and culture will all find this historical fiction highly enjoyable, though liberal in its characterizations of Read more...

Posted by on November 13, 2018

The Murder of Roger Ackroyd

Dr. James Shepard had an unusual day. It began with the suicide of Mrs. Farrows, a patient of his whom he suspects murdered her husband a year prior, and ended with Read more...

Posted by on October 29, 2018

Lincoln in the Bardo

Amidst the rising tensions of the Civil War, President Lincoln is dealing with more than the state of the country; his son Willie caught something akin to typhoid fever and Read more...

Posted by on August 25, 2018

The Great Wall

Viewers who want period accuracy and believable tales can skip this one.  For the rest, the story is entertaining, but not particularly surprising. 

Posted by on July 11, 2018

The Night Diary

Through a series of letters written to her deceased mother, shy, quiet, twelve year-old Nisha tells the story of her family’s journey from the newly-formed Pakistan to India in the Read more...

Posted by on July 11, 2018

Book Recs