When Mischief Came to Town by Katrina Nannestad

Fans of Pippi Longstocking and Anne of Green Gables will adore the story of 10-year-old Inge Marie Jensen; a spunky, recently orphaned girl who arrives at a dreary Danish island Read more...

Posted by on May 28, 2020

The Engineer’s Wife by Tracey Enerson Wood

The Engineer’s Wife is a historical fiction novel that opens up at the end of the Civil War. It follows the life of the suffragist, Emily Warren Roebling, and her Read more...

Posted by on May 14, 2020

A Well-Behaved Woman : a Novel of the Vanderbilts by Therese Fowler

This is a story of one woman’s struggle to overcome infidelity, chauvinism, and crippling loss in the midst of New York’s Gilded Age. It is a story of fortune lost Read more...

Posted by on March 24, 2020

Grace Hopper: Queen of Computer Code by Laurie Wallmark

This book begins with Grace Hopper as a young girl who breaks clocks simply to put them back together and find what makes them tick. With her parents’ support, she Read more...

Posted by on March 4, 2020

Keith Haring: The Boy Who Just Kept Drawing by Kay Haring by Kay Haring

Keith Haring: The Boy Who Just Kept Drawing is the story of the world famous pop artist. Written by his sister Kay Haring, the picture book takes a look at Read more...

Posted by on January 2, 2020

The World That We Knew by Alice Hoffman

This novel begins in Berlin in 1941 and follows the life of a young Jewish girl, Lea, whose mother, Hanni, will do anything to keep her safe. She consults a Read more...

Posted by on November 5, 2019

Midwinterblood by Marcus Sedgwick

Containing elements of mystery, horror, romance, history, and the paranormal, Midwinterblood is difficult to describe without giving too much away or just listing more descriptors like “sweeping” and “mystical.”

Posted by on March 26, 2019

The Sea Queen by Linnea Hartsuyker

Fans of A Song of Ice and Fire and those interested in Norse history and culture will all find this historical fiction highly enjoyable, though liberal in its characterizations of Read more...

Posted by on November 13, 2018

The Murder of Roger Ackroyd by Agatha Christie

Dr. James Shepard had an unusual day. It began with the suicide of Mrs. Farrows, a patient of his whom he suspects murdered her husband a year prior, and ended with Read more...

Posted by on October 29, 2018

Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders

Amidst the rising tensions of the Civil War, President Lincoln is dealing with more than the state of the country; his son Willie caught something akin to typhoid fever and Read more...

Posted by on August 25, 2018

The Great Wall by Yimou Zhang

Viewers who want period accuracy and believable tales can skip this one.  For the rest, the story is entertaining, but not particularly surprising. 

Posted by on July 11, 2018

The Night Diary by Veera Hiranandani

Through a series of letters written to her deceased mother, shy, quiet, twelve year-old Nisha tells the story of her family’s journey from the newly-formed Pakistan to India in the Read more...

Posted by on July 11, 2018

The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet by David Mitchell

The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet is a sweeping, carefully plotted novel of politics and trade in Japan when the island nation closed its borders to all others. There Read more...

Posted by on May 1, 2018

Hermes: Tales of the Trickster by George O’Connor

The Greek god of thieves, language, and travel comes to life in this vibrant addition to George O’Connor’s Olympians graphic novel series.

Posted by on March 22, 2018

Flame in the Mist by Reneé Ahdieh

The prose is elegant and descriptive, and it's apparent much research was put into life in feudal Japan. If you're in the market for historical fiction in a nontraditional setting Read more...

Posted by on March 14, 2018

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!