In our latest addition of In the Spotlight, Alex Carlson, librarian in Adult Services, talks all things Star Wars:

A long time ago, May 25, 1977 to be exact, the original Star Wars premiered and since that day the series has spawned numerous sequels, books, video games, toys, and even one very odd Holiday  Special. On Decestar warsmber 18th, 2015 (less than one month away!!) the next installment of the Star Wars series will premiere: Episode VII: The Force Awakens. The Force Awakens represents the start of a new trilogy of Star Wars Films and has generated an incredible amount of excitement within the community!

The Star Wars universe has been greatly expanded over the years through items such as books, comic books, and video games. All of the official materials were published under the brand of the “Expanded Universe” which has since been changed to “Star Wars Legends.” One such book that was published this year was Star Wars: Aftermath by Chuck Wendig. Star Wars: Aftermath bridges the gap between the movies Revenge of the Sith and The Force Awakens so it is the perfect one to read to get prepared for the new movie!

I hope to hear about your reaction to the new film and may the force be with you!

Reserve a copy of the movies at the links below!

The Original Trilogy on DVD

Episode One: The Phantom Menace

Episode Two: Attack of the Clones

Episode Three: Revenge of the Sith

The Complete Saga on Blu-ray

Share this post: